Select Page

Rock Island, TN – The lifetime athletic accomplishment of reigning World
Freestyle Kayak champion Eric “EJ” Jackson will be recognized next month
during induction ceremonies into the International Whitewater Hall of Fame.

On Oct. 11 at Nantahala Outdoor Center, Jackson will join other
distinguished paddlers who have been recognized for significant
accomplishments and contributions to whitewater related activities. The
International Whitewater Hall of Fame Board of Governors and the US
Paddlesports Industry Association choose inductees.

“I’m truly honored to accept this recognition from my mentors and peers in
an industry within which I’ve been able to pursue so many dreams and
ambitions,” said Jackson. “This honor is a tribute to love. The realization
of so many dreams was made possible by my lifelong love and partner
Kristine, the love of my two amazing oldest children that humbles me every
day, the pure bundle of love that is my newborn son, and a world full of so
many loving friends, and of course, my undying love for paddling.”

Jackson’s career in kayaking spans four decades and counting. Jackson has
achieved top results and firsts in a diversity of disciplines within the
sport from representing the US at the Olympics in slalom, to setting a
record number of titles in national and world freestyle competitions, to
countless extreme racing wins, to recording first descents on some of the
world’s most daunting rivers. He also founded his namesake and leading brand
of whitewater kayaks and founded World Kayak, a global initiative aimed at
growing the sport by making kayaking more fun and accessible on and off the

Jackson will be joining 11 other paddlesports luminaries at this year’s Hall
of Fame ceremony. Inductees hail from around the world and reflect the
various disciplines and evolution of paddlesports:

Explorers: Walt Blackadar, Mick Hopkinson; Champions, Cathy Hearn, Richard
Fox, Gilles Zok, Eric Jackson; Pioneers, Tom Prijon. Carl Luther; Advocates,
Bill Endicott, William Nealy, Kent Ford, Klaus Lettmann.